top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonathan Rosentreter

Week 11: Final Big Additions

Achievements:

This week I designed and added my last new level to the game. The level is a combination of elements from each of the previous levels.

I drew up the final art assets of the game: Platforms and an Exit arrow. For the moving platforms and the arrow to direct the player towards the exit.

In addition, I polished up the look of the start and end screens.

The end screen still has some changes to be made, with time and stats to be formatted.


Changes (Also the Challenges):

There were a few bugs this week that I wasn't sure how to solve of fix. However, after milling it over for a while I started coming up with some ideas.


The first issue was about the player 'dying twice' (I believe), if the player collided with two pike hit boxes on the same frame, they would be reset twice. The way I solved this was by making a Boolean to check whether the player has already died on a certain frame. The issue has yet to be repeated since this implementation.


The second issue was just as game breaking. The player would stop moving, but the game would think they were still moving, and cause them to get trapped on corners between doors and walls. A little difficult to explain, here's a gif.

After a while I figured I could solve this by reducing the hit box of the player while moving. This resulted in a new issue. If the player changed direction on the same frame as hitting a wall, the game would eat the input. Here's another gif.

There was no 'sweet spot' that would let the player stop colliding with corners, but also stop the inputs from being eaten. After a while, I realised I can change the X and Y of the hit box individually. So when the player moves up/down, the hit box shrinks horizontally, and when they move left/right, it shrinks vertically. These issues have not been seen since this change.


During the week, I had also play-tested, and testers were unhappy with the hit boxes for no fall zones. The player is mostly off the zone, yet they couldn't move. So, I added a new, smaller, collider to the player to reduce the area that the no fall zones would affect them.


Plans for next week:

As next week will be the last proper week of development, I will be finishing off the final parts of the game. This includes: End screen art and music/sound effects. I will also be conducting play-testing (as usual) this week, and focusing on the new level.


Burndown:


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page